DIY Bombonieres and Favours

Ever considered making your own bombonieres?  That’s what I did.  If you are a sweet sugar lover as myself, you  may want to consider making your own  bomboniere Sugar Cookies!  I think it’s a nice personal touch and allows you to give a more personalized gift to your wedding guests. 

Let’s be real, I am no expert when it comes to making these cute cutout cookies, but after practice and with the help of my mother, MOH (Maid of Honour), and bridesmaids, I was able to do 225 of these cookies. 

1. Recipe: Find a recipe that’s tried, tested and true.  I used the Joy of Baking cookie batter and royal icing recipe.  But recently I found another recipe that I like better from Sweetopia and now I use that one.

2. Packaging:  The packaging is very important because it will enhance your cookie and make it look more professional and elegant.  I used a clear cellophane bag with a coloured ribbon tied around it.  The ribbon matched the theme colours of my wedding (green with accents of fuchsia pink).  I found the bags at Wal-Mart, made by Wilson and are fairly inexpensive.  The clear bags are a really nice touch because they add colour to your table setting. The only other touch of colour I had on the table were my green topiary centerpieces (this is to come in another post!)  Another option which also works is packaging the cookis in clear boxes.  However I didn’t do this because I couldn’t find the exact box I was looking for, and they are typically more expensive.  Remember, I am a frugal fashionista 😉

3. Assign tasks.  Being the bride you need to organize who will do what and when.  One tip of advice: the cookies do not need to be completed in one day- it is a process.  If you plan it properly, you can actually do one task a day.  I made the batter 6 days before the wedding and baked them that night with the help of my fiance and sister).  The cookies were flooded with the pink 5 days in advance (with the help of my mom and sisters).  The fine details were done 4 days in advance (thanks to the help of my MOH who handwrit “CB” on every cookie).   I was fortunate to have someone to do the fine detailing who had a steady and consistent hand.  She did almost every cookie identically.  Finally, all of us girls bagged and tied ribbons 3 days before the wedding.

Leave a comment